Weapons Other Than Firearms Prohibited Rhode Island Lawyer

Home |  Weapons Other Than Firearms Prohibited Rhode Island Lawyer

In Rhode Island, it is a misdemeanor criminal offense to carry, possess, or use against another with unlawful intent certain weapons other than firearms under Rhode Island General Laws 11-47-42. For example, you can be charged in Rhode Island if you carry brass knuckles or wear concealed on your body a knife with a blade over three inches in length.

A weapons other than firearms charge can result in significant fines, prison time, or both, so it is important to work with an experienced Rhode Island criminal defense attorney like the attorneys at Ellison Law LLC to avoid a criminal conviction under this Rhode Island law.

When Can You Be Charged with Weapons Other Than Firearms Prohibited?

There are multiple ways you can be charged with the Rhode Island weapons other than firearms law.

1. You can be charged if you carry, possess, or attempt to use against another the following instruments or weapons:

  • Blackjack
  • Slingshot
  • Billy
  • Sandclub
  • Sandbag
  • Metal knuckles
  • Slap glove
  • Bludgeon
  • Stun-gun, or
  • So called “Kung-Fu” weapons

2. You can be charged if you carry or possess with intent to use unlawfully against another the following instruments or weapons:

  • Crossbow
  • Dagger
  • Dirk
  • Stiletto
  • Sword-in-cane
  • Bowie knife, or
  • Other similar weapon designed to cut and stab another

3. You can be charged if you wear or carry concealed on your body:

  • Any of the above instruments or weapons, or
  • Any razor or knife with a blade of more than three inches in length. The length of the blade is measured from the end of the handle where the blade is attached to the end of the blade.

4. You can be charged if you sell to a minor (a person under eighteen years of age), without written authorization from the minor’s parent or legal guardian, the following weapons or instruments:

  • Stink bomb, blackjack, slingshot, bill, sandclub, sandbag, metal knuckles, slap glove, bludgeon, stun-gun, paint ball gun, so called “kung-fu” weapons, dagger, dirk, stiletto, sword-in-cane, bowie knife, razor, or knife of any description having a blade of more than three inches (3″) in length as described in subsection (a) of this section, or any multi-pronged star with sharpened edges designed to be used as a weapon and commonly known as a Chinese throwing star

What Are The Penalties for A Weapons Other Than Firearms Prohibited Charge?

If you are charged with possession of a weapons other than firearms in Rhode Island under Rhode Island General Laws 11-47-42, you could face fines, prison time, or both depending on which subsection you are charged.

If you are charged under subsection (a) with carrying, possessing, or attempting to use against any of the instruments or weapons listed above, then you could face:

  • A fine of less than $1,000
  • A prison term of less than 1 year
  • Both a fine and imprisonment
  • Additionally, the weapon or instrument in question will be confiscated

If you are charged with violating the provisions under subsection (a) while incarcerated within an adult correctional institution, then you could face:

  • A fine of $1,000 to $3,000
  • A prison term of 1 – 5 years
  • Both a fine and imprisonment
  • Additionally, the weapon in question will be confiscated

If you are charged with selling any of the aforementioned instruments or weapons to a minor without the minor’s parent or legal guardian’s written authorization, then you could face:

  • A fine of $1,000 to $3,000
  • A prison term of 1 – 5 years
  • Both a fine and imprisonment
  • Additionally, the weapon in question will be confiscated

Can I be arrested for possession of a weapon other than firearms in Rhode Island?

Rhode Island General Law 11-47-45 states an officer may arrest someone who possesses any of the weapons described in Rhode Island General Law 11-47-42 if the officer has reasonable ground to suspect the person possesses, is using, wearing or carrying any of the instruments or weapons other than firearms, contrary to the law.

Can I be detained for possession of a weapon other than firearms in Rhode Island?

If you are arrested for possession of a weapon other than firearms in Rhode Island General Law 11-47-45 you may be detained for a reasonable time, not to exceed 24 hours. You should not be detained for longer than 24 hours unless there is a complaint being made against you before the proper court or justice. If the arresting officer is satisfied that there is no ground for making a criminal complaint against you, anytime during the 24 hours, you will be released from custody.

How To Defend Against A Weapons Other Than Firearms Charge in Rhode Island?

Because there are many nuances to this Rhode Island law, we highly recommend working with a skilled Rhode Island criminal defense attorney like the attorneys at Ellison Law LLC to defend yourself if you are facing a weapons other than firearms charge in Rhode Island.

Ellison Law LLC has helped many clients navigate the Rhode Island legal system and avoid criminal convictions. We help you understand the charge against you, advise you on the best options to avoid fines or prison time, and advocate for you in court. If you or someone you know is facing a charge under the weapons other than firearms prohibited statute in the State of Rhode Island, contact us today at 401-230-5520.

Testimonials

Contact Us Today

Fields marked with an “*” are required

Do you agree to opt-in to receive Text messages? You may opt-out at any time by replying "STOP".*
Do you agree to opt-in to receive Text messages? You may opt-out at any time by replying "STOP".
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.