Have you found yourself facing charges for transporting alcohol by a minor in Rhode Island? The legal consequences associated with this offense can have a significant impact on your future. At Ellison Law LLC, we understand the complexities of criminal defense, and we are committed to helping you navigate through these challenging times. Our experienced criminal defense attorneys are well-versed in the nuances of Rhode Island criminal law and can explore a variety of defense strategies to protect your rights and build a strong case on your behalf.
Can I be charged with Transporting Alcohol by a Minor in Rhode Island?
You can be charged for transporting alcohol by a minor if the following things happen:
1) You are not yet 21 years old;
2) You operate a motor vehicle upon the public highways;
3) You knowingly having liquor or intoxicating beverages in any form in containers, opened or unopened, in any part of your vehicle;
Exceptions to this law:
- when you are accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or another adult who is over the age of twenty-one (21) years and related, whether by blood, adoption or marriage, to the operator within the following degree of sanguinity: brother, sister, grandfather, grandmother, father-in-law, mother-in-law, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, stepfather, stepmother, stepbrother, stepsister, half-brother, half-sister, uncle, aunt, great uncle or great aunt
- If you are between the ages of sixteen (16) and twenty-one (21) and are transporting unopened alcoholic beverages in the course of your employment.
What are the Penalties for Transporting Alcohol by a Minor in Rhode Island?
Transporting Alcohol by a Minor is a criminal violation that can result in a conviction, a potential fine and a potential license suspensions. The following penalties can be found from R.I. Gen. Laws § 3-8-9(b):
(1) For a first offense, a fine of not more than two hundred fifty dollars ($250) and have his or her license to operate a motor vehicle suspended for not more than thirty (30) days;
(2) For a second offense, a fine of not more than five hundred dollars ($500) and have his or her license to operate a motor vehicle suspended for not more than ninety (90) days;
(3) For a third or subsequent offense, a fine of no less than five hundred dollars ($500) nor more than nine hundred and fifty dollars ($950) and have his or her license to operate a motor vehicle suspended for one year.
Do I need a Lawyer for Transporting Alcohol by a Minor?
You do not "need" a lawyer for any criminal case. Our Constitution provides that you have the constitutional right to have a lawyer represent you in any criminal proceeding, no matter how serious. The Constitution allows you to represent yourself but that does not mean it is always the best course of action. When you have a criminal defense lawyer represent you, you have a professional who deals with these situations day in and day out. We can help fight your charges. Our commitment is to ensure that your rights are protected, and we will explore all available options to secure the best possible outcome for your case.
Facing charges for transporting alcohol by a minor in Rhode Island is a criminal matter that should not be taken lightly. At Ellison Law LLC, our lawyers are dedicated to providing you with unwavering support and a strong legal defense strategy tailored to your unique situation. Contact us today at 401-230-5520 for a confidential consultation, and let us guide you through this challenging legal process, working towards the best resolution for your situation. Your future is important to us, and we are here to fight for it.