Reckless Driving in the state of Rhode Island is a criminal charge that should be taken seriously. If you are facing a reckless driving charge, it's important that you seek legal representation from an experienced Rhode Island Reckless Driving lawyer immediately. Reckless Driving can have negative consequences like probation, suspension of your license, fines and fees and potentially jail. This is why it is important to have an attorney helping you through the process.
What are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in Rhode Island?
For a First Offense Reckless Driving charge:
- a Misdemeanor Criminal Offense
- up to $500 fine
- up to six months in jail
- potential license suspension
Second and Subsequent Offense Reckless Driving:
- a Felony Criminal Offense
- up to $1000 fine
- potentially over one year in jail
- potential license suspension
Reckless Driving and a Citation at the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal
Many times when somebody is charged criminally with Reckless Driving in Rhode Island, there is an accompanying Summons for civil traffic violations that is filed at the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal. Although both of these things arise out of the same incident, there are separate court dates for criminal and civil violations at different courts. At the Law Office of David Ellison, when we represent you on a criminal reckless driving charge, we also represent you for the civil traffic violations at the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal.
What is the Rhode Island General Law for Reckless Driving?
The law for Reckless Driving comes from Rhode Island General Laws § 31-27-4. Reckless driving and other offenses against public safety.
"Any person who operates a motor vehicle recklessly so that the lives or safety of the public might be endangered, or operates a vehicle in an attempt to elude or flee from a traffic officer or police vehicle, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor for the first conviction and a felony for the second and each subsequent conviction."
Can I Lose My License for Reckless Driving in Rhode Island?
Yes, you can lose your driver's license for reckless driving in Rhode Island. The license suspension for reckless driving is determined on a case by case basis in Rhode Island. Therefore, the judge has the power to suspend your driver's license if you are convicted of reckless driving in Rhode Island.
What Speed is Considered Reckless Driving in Rhode Island?
There is no set speed under the law in Rhode Island that is considered reckless driving. In order to charge you with reckless driving, the police officer who charges you will use their discretion in deciding whether the speed you were going and the manner in which you were driving was reckless and the lives or safety of the public might have been endangered.
Reckless Driving charges can have costly consequences that could negatively affect your life and life of your family. If you have been charged with Reckless Driving in Rhode island, contact Attorney David Ellison today. Having the knowledge and experience of an experienced Rhode Island Criminal Defense Lawyer by your side may help to avoid the possible penalties and negative consequences that come from being charged with Reckless Driving. Do not wait, contact Attorney David Ellison today at 401-230-5520.