Attorney David Ellison defends people accused of committing all various types of assaults in the State of Rhode Island. If you have been charged with any type of assault charge, give us a call today. Assault charges are a serious offense and should not be taken lightly. They have potential consequences of jail, a suspended sentence, probation, a criminal record, hefty fines and/or fees. The various Assault charges can be found in Rhode Island General Laws § 11-5.
What are the Penalties for Assault in Rhode Island?
Simple Assault or Battery:
Up to $1,000 in fines and/or
Up to 1 year in prison
Rhode Island General Laws § 11-5-2 states: "Every person who shall make an assault or battery, or both, upon the person of another, with a dangerous weapon, or with acid or other dangerous substance, or by fire, or an assault or battery that results in serious bodily injury shall be guilty of a felony assault."
If such assault results in serious bodily injury:
Up to 20 years in prison
Every other felony assault which results in bodily injury or no injury:
Up to 6 years in prison
Battery with Criminal Negligence:
Up to 10 years in prison and/or
Up to $10,000 in fines
"'Criminal negligence' shall mean: Conduct which is such a departure from what would be that of an ordinary prudent or careful person in the same circumstance as to be incompatible with a proper regard for human life or an indifference to consequences. Criminal negligence is negligence that is aggravated, culpable or gross" Rhode Island General Laws § 11-5-2.2. Battery – Criminal negligence
What are Some Potential Defenses to Assault Crimes in Rhode Island?
Defense of Another
It Never Happened
No Deadly Weapon (if applicable)
It is important to hire an experienced Rhode Island Criminal Defense Lawyer as soon as possible to begin the process of gathering evidence and crafting a legal defense to the assault charges you are facing. Contact Rhode Island Assault Crime Lawyer David Ellison today at 401-230-5520.