Attorney David Ellison defends people accused of Aggressive Driving in the various courts in the State of Rhode Island. If you have been charged with Aggressive Driving, give us a call today. Aggressive Driving charges are a serious offense that can result in your license being suspended, hefty fines, and/or potential driver retraining classes.
The laws for Aggressive Driving can be found in Rhode Island General Laws § 31-27.1-1 through § 31-27.1-4
What is Aggressive Driving in Rhode Island?
The definition of "Aggressive Driving" comes from Rhode Island General Laws § 31-27.1-3. "Aggressive Driving" means that an individual, coincident to operating a motor vehicle in violation of chapter 14 of this title, engages in conduct which violates two (2) or more of the following sections of law:
(1) Obedience to traffic control devices, § 31-13-4;
(2) Overtaking on the right, § 31-15-5;
(3) Driving within a traffic lane, § 31-15-1;
(4) Following too closely – interval between vehicles, § 31-15-12;
(5) Yielding right of way, §§ 31-15-12.1, 31-17-1, 31-17-2, 31-17-4, 31-17-6, 31-17-7 and 31-17-8;
(6) Entering the roadway, §§ 31-15-14, 31-17-3 and 31-17-5;
(7) Use of turn signals, §§ 31-16-5, 31-16-6, 31-16-8 and 31-16-9;
(8) Relating to school buses, special stops, stop signs and yield signs, chapter 20 of this title; and
(9) Use of emergency break-down lane for travel, § 31-15-16.
What are the Penalties for Aggressive Driving in Rhode Island?
License Suspension of at Least 30 days; and/or
Fine of $260-$500; and/or
Driver Retraining Classes; and/or
The additional penalties for the other offenses that are charged.
The penalties for "Aggressive Driving" come from Rhode Island General Laws § 31-27.1-4.
If you are charged with Aggressive Driving in the State of Rhode Island, contact Attorney David Ellison today at 401-230-5520.