Operating After License Suspension in Massachusetts
It is a crime in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts to operate a motor vehicle after your licenses is suspended or revoked. Massachusetts General Law Chapter 90 § 23 states it is a criminal act to drive or operate a motor vehicle after your license has been suspended, revoked, or after the suspension or revocation has been issued by the registrar. If you continue to drive with a suspended license, you may be in violation of the law.
In addition to a criminal charge of operating after license suspension in Massachusetts there may also be an issue that needs to be addressed at the Massachusetts RMV. It is important to have an attorney with extensive experience in both Massachusetts Criminal Defense and Massachusetts License Suspensions with the RMV. The Law Office of David Ellison can handle all aspects of your case from the criminal charge to reinstatement of you driver's license with the RMV and will work hard to achieve the best outcome for you.
What Does the Prosecution Need to Prove for Operating on a Suspended License in Massachusetts?
In order to be found guilty of operating after a suspension or revocation of license the Commonwealth must prove the following three things beyond a reasonable doubt.
- You were operating a motor vehicle
- At the time you were operating a motor vehicle your license to drive in Massachusetts was suspended or revoked.
- You received a notice from the Registrar of Motor Vehicles notifying you of the license suspension.
What happens if you drive with a suspended license in Massachusetts?
Massachusetts General Law Chapter 90 § 23 states if you drive a vehicle after your license has been suspended or revoked and are convicted you will face the following penalties:
A first offense conviction comes with the following penalties:
- A fine between $500-$1,000, and/or
- Imprisonment of no more than 10 days,
A conviction for a subsequent offense comes with the following penalties:
- Imprisonment for at least 60 days up to 1 year.
What if I get a ticket for Operating a Motor Vehicle After a License Suspension in Massachusetts?
If you receive a citation for operating a motor vehicle after a license suspension you must immediately respond to the ticket in order to schedule a Clerk Magistrate Hearing. It is at this hearing that a Clerk Magistrate will decide if probable cause exists to issue a criminal complaint.
It is important to hired a skilled and experienced attorney to represent you at the Clerk Magistrate Hearing. The Law Office of David Ellison frequently represents clients at Clerk Magistrate Hearings in Massachusetts.
Contact Experienced Massachusetts Motor Vehicle Defense Attorneys
If you are charged with Operating After a License Suspension in Massachusetts, it is a criminal offense in Massachusetts; therefore, it is important to hire a skilled criminal defense attorney. The Law Office of David Ellison has attorneys who consistently handle Operating After a License Suspension cases. They work hard to obtain favorable outcomes and provide sound legal advice to all their clients. If you have been charged with Operating After a License Suspension, contact the Law Office of David Ellison Today at 401-230-5520.