In the Sate of Rhode Island it is a criminal offense to Drive a Motor Vehicle on a Suspended License when you have been convicted twice for it. It is a civil offense for your first or second offense of Driving on a Suspended License. Rhode Island General Law 31-11-18 states any person who drives a motor vehicle on any highway within the State of Rhode Island without a license whether it be because their license is suspended, revoked or cancelled may be guilty of a misdemeanor crime.
In addition to a criminal charge of Driving on a Suspended License in Rhode Island there may also be an issue that needs to be addressed at theRhode Island DMV. It is important to have an attorney with extensive experience in both Rhode Island Criminal Defense and Rhode Island License Suspensions with the DMV. The Law Office of David Ellison can handle all aspects of your case from the criminal charge to reinstatement of you driver's license with the DMV and will work hard to achieve the best outcome for you.
Is driving on a suspended license a criminal offense in Rhode Island?
Driving a vehicle while your license is suspended may be a civil charge or misdemeanor criminal offense in the State of Rhode Island, depending on how many times you have been convicted of this charge. Per Rhode Island General Law 31-11-18 if you drive a vehicle with a suspended, revoked, expired or cancelled license you may be charged civilly or criminally.
Will I go to jail for Driving on a Suspended License in Rhode Island?
If you have been charged with a third offense or greater of Driving on a Suspended License in Rhode Island, there is the potential of having to serve jail time. A first or second offense is not a criminal offense. It is a civil offense meaning there is no jail time associated with a first or second offense.
What happens if you drive around with a suspended license?
If you are caught Driving with a Suspended License the penalties that come with a conviction vary depending on how many times you've been convicted with a suspended license.
First Offense (Civil Penalty)
- Fines between $250-$500
Second Offense (Civil Penalty)
- Fines between $350-$500
Third Offense (Criminal)
- Imprisonment for up to 90 days
- Fines between $500-$1,000
- Both imprisonment or fines
- License Suspension up to 90 days
- Potential criminal conviction
- Potential probation
Can I fight a charge of Driving on a Suspended License in Rhode Island?
Yes, if you have been charged civilly or criminally with Driving on a Suspended License, you do not have to fight this charge alone. Call the experienced Rhode Island Traffic Ticket Attorneys and Rhode Island Criminal Defense Attorneys at the Law Office of David Ellison today at 401-230-5520.