The law requires that when an authorized vehicle with its lights on is stopped on the side of the road, you need to either move over or slow down to an appropriate, reduced speed. One of the common times people get ticketed for Conditions Requiring Reduced Speed Move Over Law is when a police officer is conducting a traffic stop with their lights on. In this circumstance, you are supposed to do one of two things 1) move into a different lane (if there is more than one lane and you can do so safely) or 2) slow down to a safe, reduced speed (if there is only one lane of traffic or you cant safely move into another lane).
If you do not obey this law, you can receive a citation for Conditions Required Reduced Speed Move Over Law under Rhode Island General Laws § 31-14-3. You do not have to fight this ticket alone. The Law Office of David Ellison has speeding ticket lawyers who have represented many clients in the past charged with Conditions Required Reduced Speed Move Over Law. Contact a traffic ticket lawyer in Rhode Island today at the Law Office of David Ellison at 401-230-5520.
What are the Penalties For Conditions Requiring Reduced Speed - Move Over Law in Rhode Island?
- $95 Fine
- Potential Driver Retraining
- Potential License Suspension
What are the Circumstances where the Move Over Law Applies in Rhode Island?
If there is an authorized vehicle that is parked within 12 feet of a roadway with its lights on, then you have to comply with the Move Over Law. Authorized vehicles include the following:
- Tow truck/roadside assistance
- Public utility vehicles and/or service vehicles
- Highway maintenance vehicles and/or equipment
- Transporter trucks
What do You Have to do for the Move Over Law in Rhode Island?
According to Rhode Island General Laws § 31-14-3(b), you have to do one of the following two things if the Move Over Law applies:
"(1) Move the vehicle into a lane that is not the lane nearest the parked or standing authorized emergency vehicle and continue traveling in that lane until safely clear of the authorized emergency vehicle. This paragraph applies only if the roadway has at least two (2) lanes for traffic proceeding in the direction of the approaching vehicle and if the approaching vehicle may change lanes safely and without interfering with any vehicular traffic.
(2) Slow the vehicle, maintaining a safe speed for traffic conditions, and operate the vehicle at a reduced speed until completely past the authorized emergency vehicle. This paragraph applies only if the roadway has only one lane for traffic proceeding in the direction of the approaching vehicle or if the approaching vehicle may not change lanes safely and without interfering with any vehicular traffic."
Contact Move Over Law Lawyer Today
If you have been charged with Conditions Requiring Reduced Speed - Move Over Law, you do not have to fight the charges alone. You can contact a Move Over Law attorney today at the Law Office of David Ellison at 401-230-5520.