Need a Save? Call Dave! 401-230-5520

DUI Penalties Rhode Island

If you are charged with a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) in Rhode Island, it is important that you hire an experienced Rhode Island criminal defense lawyer. In addition, you may be charged in the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal with Refusal to Submit to a Chemical Test, which is a totally separate charge from Driving Under the Influence in Rhode Island. A DUI can have serious penalties in Rhode Island. 

What are the Penalties for DUI in Rhode Island?

Rhode Island General Laws § 31-27-2 "Driving under influence of liquor or drugs," is the law that prescribes the penalties for Driving Under the Influence in Rhode Island. The penalties are broken down based on the amount of prior offenses and what your alleged blood alcohol content (BAC) is alleged to be. 

First Offense Penalties for DUI: 

A first offense DUI is a common criminal charge that can happen to anybody. There are consequences associated with a first offense DUI that can be very detrimental to your life. 

First Offense DUI Penalties – BAC Unknown 

  • Up to 1 Year in Jail
  • License Suspension of 3 to 12 Months
  • Fines and Fees
  • 10 to 60 Hours of Community Service
  • Mandatory Enrollment in DUI School and/or Alcohol Counseling
  • Potential Criminal Conviction 

First Offense DUI Penalties – BAC Between 0.08 and 0.10

  • Up to 1 Year in Jail
  • License Suspension of 1 to 6 months
  • Fines and Fees
  • 10 to 60 Hours of Public Community Service
  • Mandatory Enrollment in DUI School and/or Alcohol Counseling
  • Potential Criminal Conviction 

First Offense DUI Penalties – BAC Between 0.10 and 0.15

  • Up to 1 Year in Jail
  • License Suspension of 3 to 12 Months
  • Fines and Fees
  • 10 to 60 Hours of Community Service
  • Mandatory Enrollment in DUI School and/or Alcohol Counseling
  • Potential Criminal Conviction 

First Offense DUI Penalties – BAC Greater than 0.15

  • Up to 1 Year in Jail
  • License Suspension of 3 to 12 Months
  • Fines and fees
  • 20 to 60 Hours of Community Service
  • Mandatory Enrollment in DUI School and/or Alcohol Counseling
  • Potential Criminal Conviction 

Second Offense Penalties for DUI

In order to prove you committed a second offense DUI in Rhode Island, you will need to have been convicted of a DUI within the last five years. A second offense DUI is a serious charge that has mandatory jail time associated with it. 

Second Offense DUI Penalties – BAC Between 0.08 and 0.15

  • Minimum 10 Days in Jail with up to 1 Year in Jail
  • License Suspension of 1 to 2 Years
  • Mandatory Alcohol and/or Drug Treatment
  • Fines and Fees
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock System
  • Potential Criminal Conviction 

Second Offense DUI Penalties – BAC Greater than 0.15

  • Minimum 6 Months in Jail with up to 1 Year in Jail
  • License Suspension of 2 Years
  • Mandatory Alcohol and/or Drug Treatment
  • Fines and Fees
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock System
  • Potential Criminal Conviction 

Third Offense Penalties for DUI

If you are charged with a third offense of DUI within the past 5 years, you are facing serious penalties in Rhode Island. You are looking at a felony offense with mandatory jail time. In order to be charged with a third offense, you need to have been convicted twice of DUI within the last five years. 

Third Offense DUI Penalties – BAC Between 0.08 and 0.15

  • Minimum 1 Year in Jail with up to 3 Years in Jail
  • License Suspension of 2 to 3 Years
  • Mandatory Alcohol and/or Drug Treatment
  • Fines and Fees
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock System
  • Potential Felony Criminal Conviction 

Third Offense DUI Penalties – BAC Greater than 0.15

  • Minimum 3 Years in Jail with up to 5 Years in Jail
  • License Suspension of 3 Years
  • Mandatory Alcohol and/or Drug Treatment
  • Fines and Fees
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock System
  • Potential Felony Criminal Conviction 

If you have been charged with Driving Under the Influence, do not hesitate to contact Rhode Island DUI Attorney David Ellison today at 401-230-5520. 

Advocating For You

When you hire The Law Office of David Ellison, not only are you getting skilled, experienced, and aggressive lawyers in your corner, but you're getting lawyers who understand the importance of empathy, honesty, and trustworthiness. We love to advocate for you.

Menu