Need a Save? Call Dave! 401-230-5520

Hit and Run Lawyer Rhode Island

If you are charged with a hit and run (referred to as Duty to Stop) in Rhode Island, it is important that you hire an experienced Rhode Island criminal defense lawyer. Duty to Stop is a common charge that happens a lot more than a person might think. If you are charged with a hit and run in Rhode Island, you could be facing possible jail time, probation, fines and fees, a criminal conviction/record, and a potential suspension of your driver's license. Attorney David Ellison is an experienced hit and run lawyer, who has represented many people charged with leaving the scene of an accident in his career. 

What is the Duty to Stop for an Accident with Property Damage? 


Rhode Island General Laws § 31-26-2 states "the driver of any vehicle knowingly involved in an accident resulting only in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person shall immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close to it as possible, but shall immediately return to and in every event shall remain at the scene of the accident until he or she has fulfilled the requirements of § 31-26-3. A stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary."

What are the Penalties for Leaving the Scene of An Accident with Property Damage? 

Any person failing to stop or comply with the requirements of § 31-26-2 from an accident resulting in property damage can face the following penalties: 

  • a misdemeanor conviction
  • up to 6 months in jail;
  • a fine between $500 and $1,000;
  • potential probation;
  • potential driver's license suspension of 6 months.

What is the Duty to Stop for an Accident with Personal Injury?

Rhode Island General Laws § 31-26-1(a) states "the driver of any vehicle knowingly involved in an accident resulting in injury to, serious bodily injury to, or death of any person shall immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close to it as possible, but shall then immediately return to and in every event shall remain at the scene of the accident until he or she has fulfilled the requirements of § 31-26-3. A stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary."

What are the Penalties for Leaving the Scene of An Accident with Personal Injury? 

Any person failing to stop or comply with the requirements of § 31-26-1 from an accident resulting in personal injury can face the following penalties:

  • Up to 5 years in prison;
  • Up to $5,000 fine;
  • A mandatory driver's license suspension of at least 1 year and up to 5 years total.

For accidents that result in serious bodily injury ("serious bodily injury" means physical injury that creates a substantial risk of death or causes serious physical disfigurement or protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ) the penalties are the following:

  • Up to 10 years in prison with a minimum of one year to serve;
  • A minimum fine of $1,000 and up to a $5,000 fine;
  • A driver's license revocation of up to 2 years.

(Subsequent convictions in a five year period result in even further sentencing enhancements)

For accidents that result in death, the penalties involve:

  • Up to 15 years in prison, with a minimum of 2 years to serve,
  • A minimum fine of $5,000 and up to a $10,000 fine;
  • A driver's license revocation of 3 years.

What Are the Requirements of Rhode Island General Laws § 31-26-3?


Under Rhode Island General Laws § 31-26-3(a) "The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in the striking of, the injury to, or death of any person or damage to any vehicle which is driven or attended by any person shall, upon request, give his or her name, address, and the registration number of the vehicle the driver is driving and shall exhibit his or her operator's or chauffeur's license to the person struck, or to the driver or occupant, or to the person attending any vehicle collided with. The driver shall render to any person injured or struck in an accident reasonable assistance, and shall immediately, by the quickest means of communication known to the driver or which should have reasonably been known to the driver to be available in the locality, give notice of the accident to a nearby office of local or state police. In the event the office so notified does not have jurisdiction of the locale of the accident, it shall be the duty of the officer receiving the notice to immediately give notice of the accident to the office having jurisdiction." 

Rhode Island Duty to Stop Offenses can have costly consequences that could negatively affect your life and life of your family. If you have been charged with a Rhode Island hit and run charge, contact Attorney David Ellison today. Having the knowledge and experience of an experienced Rhode Island Criminal Defense Lawyer by your side may help reduce your sentence, potentially avoid a license suspension, lower your fines and keep you out of jail. Do not wait, contact Attorney David Ellison today at 401-230-5520. 

Advocating For You

When you hire Attorney David Ellison, not only are you getting a skilled, experienced, and aggressive lawyer in your corner, but you're getting a lawyer who understands the importance of empathy, honesty, and trustworthiness. Attorney Ellison is a lawyer who loves to advocate for you.

Menu